Ancient India and South Indian History & Culture

This Book about the history of southern India covers a span of over four thousand years during which the region saw the rise and fall of a number of dynasties and empires. The period of the known history of the region begins with the Iron Age (1200 BCE to 24 BCE) period until the 14th century CE. Dynasties of Satavahana, Chola, Chera, Pandyan, Chalukya, Pallava, Rashtrakuta, Kakatiya, Sauna (Yadava) dynasty and Hoysala were at their peak during various periods of history. These Dynasties constantly fought amongst each other and against external forces when Muslim armies invaded southern India. Vijayanagara empire rose in response to the Muslim intervention and covered the most of southern India and acted as a bulwark against Mughal expansion into the south. When the European powers arrived during the 16th and 18th century CE, the southern kingdoms, most notably Tipu Sultan’s Kingdom of Mysore, resisted the new threats, and many parts eventually succumbed to British occupation. The British created the Madras Presidency which covered most of southern India directly administered by the British Raj, and divided the rest into a number of dependent princely states. After Indian independence, South India was linguistically divided into the states of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Kerala.

About Book

Title : Ancient India and South Indian History & Culture: Papers on Indian History and Culture
Authors : Sakkottai Krishnaswami Aiyangar, Śā kkoṭṭai Krisṇaswāmi Aiyangār
Publisher : Oriental Book Agency, 1941
Length : 946 pages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Bitnami banner